Kodewerx

Our culture has advanced beyond all that you could possibly comprehend with one hundred percent of your brain.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 10:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 2:55 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
Game ID: BSLE 2A2650BC

Just some quick codes:

Max 'Ollars
0216C744 000F423F

Infinite Onscreen Items
22133A44 00000000

Number of items used
02106E2C 00000000

Timer
022A3114 00000000

Infinite Health
622A2FFC 00000000
B22A2FFC 00000000
00000050 00000064
D2000000 00000000

Move using D-pad (Hold L) v1
94000130 FDEF0000
62168480 00000000
B2168480 00000000
0000193C 00004000
D2000000 00000000
94000130 FDDF0000
62168480 00000000
B2168480 00000000
0000193C FFFFC000
D2000000 00000000


Last edited by BuckM on Thu Sep 24, 2009 7:54 am, edited 8 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 6:18 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:55 pm
Posts: 19
Title: This space for rent
Okay, what's the GameID?

edit: Alright, thanks. Will test.

Edit 2: Codes work. Max Ollars not tested (didn't want it to autosave) but really, there's not much to spend it on anyway. Unless I just haven't got far enough yet.

Plus you'll earn enough with the "use only one object" code anyway. All we really need as a capper is "timer is one second" or something. lol.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 2:38 am 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:01 pm
Posts: 29
the infinite items on screen doesn't work, i used a shotgun and it still disappeared


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 7:22 am 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
That's not what the code does, it just allows you to spawn as many items as you want, it doesn't preserve them. But I'll try to make one that allows infinite ammo later.


Last edited by BuckM on Mon Sep 14, 2009 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 14, 2009 9:01 am 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 5:55 pm
Posts: 19
Title: This space for rent
I would love a code that lets you move Maxwell by holding L and using the D-pad. The touch-based movement is a pain in the ass.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 4:19 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:48 pm
Posts: 16
Title: Reaper
Okay I don't make codes so forgive my noobness but why would we need to hold a button just to move around with the D pad? Couldn't the code just be movement with the D pad and no activator? If it so we can still pan the camera around than I feel I should let you know the a,b,x,y buttons also pan the camera around.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 5:18 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
Sure you could, but I made the code so that a right handed person could still hold the stylus in their hand and then just use their left hand to either pan the camera or move. All you have to do is change the value in the button activators:
94000130 FDEF0000 becomes 94000130 FFEF0000 and
94000130 FDDF0000 becomes 94000130 FFDF0000

Unrelated, would someone be able to provide me with a way to create breakpoints via an emulator? (I know no$gba debugger can do it but there's no way to contact the author) I need it to create that infinite ammo code. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2009 7:58 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:48 pm
Posts: 16
Title: Reaper
Hey, thanks a lot and great codes. The only reason I asked is because my L button is starting to get a little wonky.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:37 pm 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
Hm? Here, I'll make it real quick.

Seems kinda silly hacking a game with this much freedom, but here goes:

Code:
.org            0x020CA8F4
sub   r0,   r0,   #0x01   @Decrements ammunition count

Infinite Ammo:
220CA8F4 00000000

Edit: I've tested this on the title screen and the challenge mode, and it worked. HOWEVER, sometimes when you're firing the RPG (type "RPG" if you haven't yet, it's awesome :D) it will disappear anyway. This is because you're shooting the ground with it and making it blow up from damage. Aim higher if you want it to stick around!

Edit: Emulator friendly:

Code:
.org            0x0209436C
adds   r2,   r2,   r1   @Decrements health

Infinite Health:
2209436C E2922000

Only tested in challenge mode. Gives infinite health to everything.

_________________
Image


Last edited by Hextator on Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:13 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
Ha, ya, I know, but it was kinda requested so I figured why not. Thanks by the way, but I'm curious, what program did you use to find that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 16, 2009 8:01 pm 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
I have the debugger version of No$, but I'm perfectly capable of debugging using just Cheat Engine and the freeware version of No$. It's just a lot slower. Why be slow if you don't have to, you know?

Also, I edited my post above.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 10:01 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Do you know if there's a way to modify the # of Ollars you win at the end of the level? One of the Merit bonuses that you need to earn requires that you get exactly 314 Ollars when you clear a stage.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:55 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
Well you could just do it with the codes provided.
Ex: I set the timer as 022A3114 00001600, and items used as 222A30B4 00000063, this will give you 314 points for your time and none for par then you just keep your style down (or use this: 22171C98 00000000).

So as a code thats:

Get 314 Ollars:
222A30B4 00000063
022A3114 00001600
22171C98 00000000


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:52 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Ah, okay.

As an aside; just a small glitch to note I guess. Do not use the infinite onscreen items with two rabbits present. Unless you want the game to go boom.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 11:41 am 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
Wait, rabbits actually reproduce? That's kinky.

Any code that allows more than the usual limit for objects is going to have a point at which the game crashes. There's a reason things like that are limited to begin with.

My advice would be to delve into modifying the code to set the bound to a higher point that is still within reason rather than removing it altogether.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:01 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:17 pm
Posts: 11
Just a fyi, the Pi merit doesn't actually exist. As for a none crashing max items code:

822C5D3A 000000XX -Max number of onscreen items
22133A44 00000018
D2000000 00000000


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:13 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:08 pm
Posts: 7
RE: Pi merit ... proof it doesn't exist? I've seen it in the NDS dump. There are merits in the dump that say "MERIT WAS CUT" for the description, and there are merits that have a description that aren't in the game (like: JOKER: WRITE PRIEST, RABBI AND IMAM), but all the merits in the dump are in order as they appear in the game screens - and only "Pi" comes between PARIAH (MAKE 3 HUMANOIDS OR ANIMALS FLEE) and PICASSO (WRITE 2 OR MORE DRAWING TOOL OBJECTS).

Does anyone have a code that unlocks all the merits?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 5:08 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Ah, gotta love developer glitches. Personally probably having a code that unlocks just the Pi merit would be fine. I'm trying to earn the rest normally anyway.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
This was all I could get. I traced Ollars, found the check for the Miser merit and couldn't figure out where the hell it stored the bit table for which merits you have. I was too lazy to properly analyze the assembly. HOWEVER, I watched a for loop carefully that occurs after what I disassembled and decided it was doing a check for which merits you've earned for a level. I tested my theory by removing a branch instruction and it turned out to be correct.

Here is what I discovered:

Code:
.org            0x020F3184
add   r1,   r5,   #0x4000   @
ldr   r1,   [r1,   #0xB94]   @r1 = Style Bonus
ldr   r2,   [r4,   #0x008]   @r2 = Total Ollars
add   r1,   r1,   r6   @r1 = Style Bonus + Par Bonus
add   r0,   r1,   r0   @r0 = Time Bonus + Style Bonus + Par Bonus
add   r1,   r2,   r0   @r1 = Total Ollars + Time Bonus + Style Bonus + Par Bonus
ldr   r0,         =#0x021300A0
str   r1,   [r4,   #0x008]   @Ollars += Time Bonus + Style Bonus + Par Bonus
ldr   r0,   [r0]      @
ldr   r1,         =#0x000493E0
@   r1 = 300,000; this is the number of Ollars needed for the Miser merit
add   r0,   r0,   #0x4000   @
ldr   r0,   [r0,   #0x280]   @
cmp   r0,   r1      @
bls            0x020F3204
ldr   r1,         =#0x00004633
@   r1 = 17971; huh? (Some sort of index to a table related to the miser merit)
mov   r0,   r5      @
bl            0x020F40DC

.org            0x020F40DC
ldr   r0,         =#0x21300A0
ldr   r0,   [r0]      @
add   r0,   r0,   r1, lsl   #0x1
sub   r0,   r0,   #0x4600   @
ldrh   r0,   [r0,   #-0x90]   @
bx   lr         @

.org            0x020F3240
bne            0x020F3264

All Merits (complete a level):
020F3240 00000000

Doesn't give first merit?

^ As the comments for the code say, you must beat a level to use the code, and it will give you ALL merits EXCEPT the first (and any beta merits not on the menu, of course).

Edit:

"HAXXOR": "Write 5 or more developers". <- fucking lol

Page 4, first row, 3rd column: "PI": "Earn 314 Ollars in a single level." <- Confirmed.

What is this? "SERIES OF TUBES": "Go here: scribblenauts.com/nauts"

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:52 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Zeld wrote:
"HAXXOR": "Write 5 or more developers". <- fucking lol

Page 4, first row, 3rd column: "PI": "Earn 314 Ollars in a single level." <- Confirmed.

What is this? "SERIES OF TUBES": "Go here: scribblenauts.com/nauts"


So it won't give you the 5th Cell Merit then? Interesting... so it'll fill out the Merits that do show up in the Options/Achievements screen then I would assume.


Last edited by meru_uma on Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 6:59 pm 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
Quoting that whole post was unnecessary.

It fills the merits screen when you complete a level except for the first merit. How do you get that one? I bet it has to do with beating the game or something. Remember, this code only works for merits you get upon completing a level. The first merit might be silently unlocked upon completing all the levels for all I know.

One could watch where the game stores things upon ignoring the branch I disabled and locate the bit table for which merits are unlocked, then manually unlock the first merit on their own.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:15 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Well the 5th Cell Merit is actually unlocked when you summon one of the developers. So it's actually pretty easy.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
How do you spell that dude's name? That Jeremiah dude...Slaczka or something?

Edit: Whoa, spelled it right. Damn.

Alright, my next goal is to get that list of all possible things you can spawn in the game.

Edit: The code MIGHT work for the first merit too; I edited the assembly mid-execution so it might have just missed it. HOWEVER, it shouldn't have given me all but one merit if that was the case; it should have given a random portion of them. My guess is the code was executed again (games execute things redundantly very often; programmers aren't as good at catching silly mistakes like that as they think they are, including myself) and then did get the merits that it missed the first time around, proving that the first merit must be obtained normally if you only use the relevant code to get the other merits.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 8:53 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 95
Zeld wrote:

Alright, my next goal is to get that list of all possible things you can spawn in the game.



Virus of game-hackers.com already did that :p I'd post the list but I'm not sure if he wants it posted.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 9:50 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
Okay I've earned all the Merits but Pi now. I'll give your code a whirl Zeld.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:15 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:08 pm
Posts: 7
Zeld - you ROCK.

The code works, did unlock the Pi merit for me.

I'd REALLY love to know why every method everyone is trying for getting the 314 Ollars isn't counting. I've tried 0 par points + 0 style points + 314 time points, misc par + misc style + misc time = 314 points, etc. and nothing is working.

I'd really hate to think they shipped a game where one of the merits isn't unlockable legitimately due to a coding error :( :(

Edit:

Zeld - Scanning through the code, I'm trying to figure out where the Pi merit ("Earn 314 Ollars in a single level" is the text) is evaluated. Looking for all the #314 literals, I found two spots:
Code:
:020BB8D4 E59F508C ldr r5,[r15, #+0x08c]     ;r15+0x08c=*(020bb968)=#314(0x0000013a)

:020F3140 E59F01F4 ldr r0,[r15, #+0x1f4]     ;r15+0x1f4=*(020f333c)=#314(0x0000013a)
(the '3140' for the address ending looks suspiciously like a programmer's joke)

... would you be so kind as to take a gander at either of those lines and their surrounding blocks to see if they apply to the Pi merit? I love your commentary on the earlier code block, it made things a great deal clearer.

Any help much appreciated! :o


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:46 am 
Offline
Komrade
Komrade

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:18 am
Posts: 1328
dragonboy - How'd he do that, exactly? I've seen a list of a bunch of spawnable objects in RAM, but I didn't think it would be exhaustive. For one thing, I expected the list to be much bigger AND when I saw it in the RAM, I saw it in Spanish and French as well, which made me think "no way is every single word in this list". But I guess it was. Would be weird otherwise...

Man, if it actually USES that list...that's depressing. I'd have thought they'd have found more efficient ways to code this system. Like hashing the string and using that as a dictionary key, and if there's a miss THEN it could open up a spelling suggestions tree or whatever data type is good for storing related spellings.

Of course, with a dictionary, one could potentially enter an invalid string like "QIWRENGIS" and spawn a duck, for example.

You'd also have to have some way of formatting input into a common format, like removing spaces and hyphens. Which isn't hard, but makes the hyphen and space keys obsolete, like "push to walk" buttons at stop lights.

Edit: pud, take a look at the disassembly I pasted. The code I disassembled occurs right after that second occurrence of the 314 literal that you found. My guess is the second literal is responsible.

Edit: A VERY short look at the disassembly around 0x020F3140 suggests that ONLY your "Style Bonus" must be 314 to get the merit. All other Ollar amounts are negligible.

Edit: And it looks like it must be 314 at the time of calculation, not after, and you get a bonus 0x9F (159, the next 3 digits of Pi after 314) Ollars for getting it or something, leaving you with 473 Style Ollars afterward anyway.

Suffice to say it's a difficult merit to get legitimately. I never got more than 65 style points when I played normal.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:12 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:08 pm
Posts: 7
Zeld -

Thanks for the insight. Does anyone have a code that can set the Style value to a particular value? If so, we could try to trigger the "Pi" merit / prove it checks style by just setting it to 314 :) I've seen one that sets Style to 0. Can it be modified?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:23 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:28 pm
Posts: 162
Title: 三角会のボス
pudquick wrote:
Zeld -

Thanks for the insight. Does anyone have a code that can set the Style value to a particular value? If so, we could try to trigger the "Pi" merit / prove it checks style by just setting it to 314 :) I've seen one that sets Style to 0. Can it be modified?


Well Buck had this set for his:
Code:
222A30B4 00000063 -> Items
022A3114 00001600 -> Timer
22171C98 00000000 -> Style


So if we change that... will it work?

Edit: I set the Style value to 314 in hex which is 13A. I played it and got 58 for my style points...


Last edited by meru_uma on Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 12:26 pm 
Offline
Kommunist
Kommunist

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 95
Zeld wrote:
dragonboy - How'd he do that, exactly? I've seen a list of a bunch of spawnable objects in RAM, but I didn't think it would be exhaustive. For one thing, I expected the list to be much bigger AND when I saw it in the RAM, I saw it in Spanish and French as well, which made me think "no way is every single word in this list". But I guess it was. Would be weird otherwise...

Man, if it actually USES that list...that's depressing. I'd have thought they'd have found more efficient ways to code this system. Like hashing the string and using that as a dictionary key, and if there's a miss THEN it could open up a spelling suggestions tree or whatever data type is good for storing related spellings.

Of course, with a dictionary, one could potentially enter an invalid string like "QIWRENGIS" and spawn a duck, for example.

You'd also have to have some way of formatting input into a common format, like removing spaces and hyphens. Which isn't hard, but makes the hyphen and space keys obsolete, like "push to walk" buttons at stop lights.


He said this
Quote:
The list does not seem to contain every possible word. I'm thinking it contains one of each entity. For example, "NUKE" and "FTL" both create a nuke. However, only "NUKE" is in that word list.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 56 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group