Kodewerx

Our culture has advanced beyond all that you could possibly comprehend with one hundred percent of your brain.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:28 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Forum rules

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:29 pm 
Kommunist
Kommunist

Title: Happy Coder
==================================================

Born2Code presents The Atari 2600 Cheat Collection

December 10, 2012

==================================================

Introduction
------------

I've been a programmer on 6502 CPU computers for over 20 years and decided to try Atari 2600 games for a challenge.
All cheats were done using Stella as I don't own an Atari console.

It took me an hour or so to figure out how to use the STELLA emulator debugger and I'm still not entirely
sure how to fully use it. The cheat process would be made a lot easier if a ROM search also existed. :)

There used to be a website with Cheetah codes but it's now offline. I'm not certain what games were covered so this
archive might contain some redundant games.

Personal Note
-------------

While these games are old and nothing in comparison to today's gaming consoles, I recall back when I was a teenager
that the Atari 2600 was a big deal to us. I remember renting one for a weekend and spending all of my free time playing
Pitfall and Defender. Back in the 1980's these games were amazing and there were even magazines dedicated to these
consoles where people sent in photos of their high scores. To think that there was a day where renting these cartridges
earned businesses a profit. Oh how times have changed!

Games covered
--------------

Here is a list of the games covered. I've noticed that many of the games are renamed (example: River Raid) or there
were multiple versions of the same game released. Stella uses a hash value (MD5) to determine which binary file you're
using. For this reason my cheats may not work with your version! I've supplied the binary files used in creating these
cheats.